hotlyts home

Making Your Twitter And Your Tweets Private

One of the most fantastic ways to really enjoying Twitter as one of the most used social networking site is to decide whether you want to go public or stay private only with your circle of friends and loved ones.

What this means is that, you can always choose whether all your tweets whether on your own feed or to somebody else's will appear to anyone you may not even know, or just visible only to the ones you are sure safe to network with.

However, underlying the simple fact on going public especially with your tweets can be worrisome especially to the security end of you and your account. Exposing your tweets means exposing your Twitter identity, and spammers and scammers alike might want to end up taking advantage of you.

Lesser than this if you'd ask, there'll be a lot of those who'll take advantage of selling goods and products to you, among which a lot of them are not really safe and verified.

Taking good control of your tweets' and account's visibility and privacy, then is a must.

There's but a very simply list of steps that you should know and take to truly make yourself and your account safe and private. The process will go around with Twitter's Protect Your Tweets option, and this may also apply to the mobile version of the platform. To go to the option:

  1. Log-in to your Twitter account with your username or e-mail address and your password.
  2. Go to the 'gear' icon found on the top right of the page. Clicking it will give you a drop-down menu.
  3. Select Settings. It should give you another page.
  4. Under Account tab on the left side of the page, look for the item Tweet Privacy on the other right side of the page. You may want to scroll down as this item appears in the middle of the list of options.
  5. You'll see that there's a box where you can put your check mark to protect your tweets. Greyed below is a short introduction to this option, and you may want to click the link Learn more to take full details of this action.
  6. By default, the box is left unchecked which means that for a start, all your tweets are set to public. Put a check mark on the box to make your tweets private and secure.
  7. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the button Save changes. If the button is greyed out, it means that you must have not yet made any changes, so go back and check if you've made the desired changes.

If you happened to have posted several tweets already prior to switching to this security option, there will not be a possible way to make those public tweets private. Deleting these sensitive posts and re-tweeting them to your circle of friends will give solution to this concern.

Remember also that when making your account together with your tweets private, your ID and your tweets will no longer be searchable on the public domain. Your tweets can also only be retweeted and replied on by your friends, and other users who would want access should ask for your approval first.

If you happen to receive e-mail notifications of a pending request but is not visible on your home page when you checked, the person might have withdrawn the request.

If you want to remove a person from the list of trusted individuals on your circle, you can simply block the person from the list.


Advertisements

Related Stuff

  1. Approving Or Denying Followers On Twitter
  2. Editing Your Twitter Profile Details
Add Your Comment
comments powered by Disqus